For the ones who said yes

October 20, 2010 § 2 Comments

As if I had more time to spare for the interweb…. I’ve done it again. Another string to the great binary disconnect.

The people who stole my heart, here.

A catalogue/archive of all the ones who I couldn’t walk past, and who said yes.

“I often say that when I am making a portrait, I’m not “capturing” the other person. If the photograph documents anything, it is the space between the subject and myself.

I have a hard time separating my sensibility from the inherent characteristics of the medium. Most photographs are made out of the desire to stop time. It is hard not to find something melancholic about this longing to possess and preserve the world. The act of photography strikes me as both desperate and utterly human. This relates to what I said previously about portraiture and the idea of photographing the space between the subject and myself. As an acknowledgement of that space, a photograph can’t help but be a small marker of alienation.”

~ Alec Soth

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to For the ones who said yes

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading For the ones who said yes at Post Halcyon.

meta

