A big starving thing

February 24, 2010 § Leave a comment

“Do you have any pets? He asked.

No.

Not even a cat?

No.

Why not?

I’m not sure I could care for a pet. I travel a lot.

But you could get a very little pet that wasn’t very hungry.

I knew all about those things that weren’t very hungry;

My life was full of them. I didn’t want any more weaklings who were activated by water and heat but had no waste and were so small that when they died, I buried them only with forgetfulness. If I was going to bring something new into my home, it would be a big starving thing.”

~ Miranda July from “The Boy from Lam Kien”

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A big starving thing at Post Halcyon.

meta

