Mid-year checkpoint

July 19, 2009 § Leave a comment

The month of July, 2009, began in Africa. Sounds epic, huh… Well, it was. Working with the local community in Mtsiliza, Malawi, was a moving and grounding experience. I met some very special people, made some very important personal discoveries and was reminded of all the things that I loved most about being a photographer. A briefly sweet interlude in Nairobi on the way back to Australia, accompanied by a missed flight and unplanned extra night in Singapore, meant enough time to kick it with some people in my life who I don’t have the opportunity to see quite as much as I’d like. This is all in the first week of this month.

I won’t bore you with a day-by-day account of the next 12 days (wow, is that all?), but suffice to say that I hit the ground running and was on a plane again 2 days later, flying interstate to photograph a lovely Argentine, before finally making it back home again long enough to do my laundry.

So here we are, yingangphoto.com updated, wearing clean clothes, cooking in my often neglected kitchen and working on a new portfolio for MJR

 

update

*July Playlist: The Smiths*

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mid-year checkpoint at Post Halcyon.

meta

