The Great Disconnect

October 21, 2010 § 3 Comments

In a time of a disintegrating sense of community and the diminishing family nucleus, I wonder if the public personal space of the internet has found a unique role to serve: A modern conduit for human connection.

The further we shrink into our “self-reliant” biospheres of meals-for-one, studio apartments, stranger neighbours and the “foreign” corner-store owner, the more dependent we become on the often silent, yet omnipresent company of Skype contacts and Facebook friends. That urge to share lives and to be communal has moved to a virtual dimension, crossing geographical boundaries and the equally distancing local and lifestyle divide.

A binary bridge across the Great Disconnect.

The community of my heart is far-flung. Communication technologies have spoilt me for choice (I want to be friends with her and her and her and him and him and her and him too… so what if they live in Azerbaijan) and the proliferation of travel options hasn’t helped either. Because of this, I am an addict. My time spent online and in post offices declaring love to those on distant shores definitely outweighs my time spent with the kids next door.

Perhaps the answer to my posture problems and failing eyesight is a simple matter of finding local playmates…. But first, I suppose I need to decide where “local” actually is…

Perpignan – Paris – Rome | September 2010

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to The Great Disconnect

  • Amber Maitland says:

    Hey now, calm down. The Great Disconnect can be used for great good as well as evil. I can sit in my hotel room in Cambodia and chat with my friend who is in a car in the Kentucky, USA….that’s pretty awesome and makes the world feel small. Before all this connectivity, life could be pretty lonely for those who wander. This may deserve a response on my blog. I shall ponder deeply, tomorrow.

  • Giulio says:

    These photos would look fantastic as large prints on a gallery wall.
    Interesting observations, too.
    The connectivity of our world is amazing but it’s a vast ocean and, no matter the level of technology, people still find themselves adrift.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Great Disconnect at Post Halcyon.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

